The I-don’t-feel-so-good, easy, chicken soup

Over the weekend I was tired, I didn’t feel very good, and my throat hurt. I didn’t want to cook anything complicated. But I wanted something classic and nutritious to help me feel better. I looked in my pantry and found some orzo. I had some chicken stock, a couple carrots, and some celery on hand too. After standing around feeling sorry for myself for a while, I realized that was all I needed. Put all that in a pot and what do you get? Chicken soup! That should help me get back on my feet.

The I-dont-feel-so-good, easy, chicken soup.

The I-dont-feel-so-good, easy, chicken soup.

Ohhh, and animal crackers… Yeah, animal crackers… I think I’ll be just fine.

Click through for the soup recipe.

The I-dont-feel-so-good, easy, chicken soup.

The I-dont-feel-so-good, easy, chicken soup.

This soup can be served as a side dish or a main course. and the recipe can be scaled up to accomodate larger portions. The proportions given make 4 cups, or two to four servings.

Easy Chicken Soup

4 cups chicken stock
Chopped vegtables (I used 2 carrots and one rib of celery. Onions, garlic and nearly anything else can be added. Cut them to bite-size peices.)
1/2 cup orzo (or rice or pasta)
Chicken (raw or cooked) (cut into bite-size peices or shredded)

Instructions:

  1. Heat the chicken stock over medium high heat until it just reaches a boil. Add the chopped vegtables and orzo and cook for about 15-20 minutes, until the vegtables and orzo are nearly cooked. Partially cover and reduce to a simmer.
  2. Add the chicken. If using cooked chicken, simmer for 3-5 minutes. If using raw chicken, simmer 7-10 minutes.

If you don’t feel well, I reccomend repeating the above steps until you feel better. Animal crackers also help.

1 Response to “The I-don’t-feel-so-good, easy, chicken soup”



  1. 1 Easy Chicken Stock « Safe To Eat Trackback on April 2, 2009 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

We have moved!

Thanks for visiting! We have moved to www.thefoodspot.com. Check there for all these posts and more tasty news! Go The Food Spot!

Categories

Safe to Eat Flickr Photos


