Pork Tenderloin with Mustard and White Wine Cream Sauce

When I cook pork, it’s almost always pork tenderloin.  I just love the way it melts in your mouth when it’s cooked correctly.  I almost always pick some up whenever it’s on sale.  This recipe is one that I created through trial and error.  As you will probably see, I am a big proponent of pan sauces.  I’ve already done one recipe with pork tenderloin, but this is another great one that requires much less prep work.  I remember my parents making a similar recipe from Gourmet magazine when I was younger, and I tried it again once I started cooking.  I found that the Gourmet recipe left a lot to be desired.  Since I found an awesome way to cook pork tenderloin in Cook’s Illustrated, I decided to try and adapt that cooking method with my own pan sauce.  Basically you brown the tenderloin on all sides on the stove and finish baking it in the oven, meanwhile constructing your pan sauce.  I originally tried making this sauce with just cream, wine, garlic, and mustard.  I realized though that the addition of shallots really added an extra dimension of flavor to the sauce.  With the addition of incorporating the fond from the pan, I had finally found a pan sauce I was proud to call my own.

Ingredients:

2 Pork Tenderloins

1 Cup Heavy Cream
1 Cup White Wine or Dry Vermouth
2 Tablespoons Minced Shallots
1 Tablespoon Minced Garlic
3 Tablespoons Dijon Mustard (Don’t use yellow mustard)
3 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 F.

2. Trim the pork tenderloin of any of the silver skin (fat), because this can sometimes burn when seared. Salt and pepper all sides of the pork.

3. Heat a 12-inch stainless steel skillet (don’t use nonstick at all costs) over medium-high heat.  Add oil and 1 Tablespoon of butter and melt until the butter foams and then the foaming subsides.  Swirl the pan and add both tenderloins to the pan.  Sear for 1-2 minutes on all 4 sides until well browned.

4. Transfer the pork to another baking vessel (we need the skillet for the pan sauce).  Bake until the temperature of the pork reads between 150-160 F (I prefer the texture better when it’s closer to 160).  Remove the pork and place on a plate and tent with foil.  Allow to rest for at least 5 minutes before cutting.

5. While the pork is baking in the oven, take the skillet and add 2 Tablespoons of unsalted butter over medium-low heat.  Melt, and then add the shallots and garlic.  Cook until softened about 2-3 minutes.  Add the wine to the skillet and turn the heat up to medium-high.  Bring to a simmer and scrape the fond (see Pan Sauce 101) from the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon.  Simmer the wine until it is reduced by half.  Add the cream, and cook until reduced by half again.  Off heat, whisk in the mustard and season to taste with salt and pepper.

6. Cut the pork into medallions (see picture) and spoon pan sauce over the top.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Pork Tenderloin with Mustard and White Wine Cream Sauce”


  1. 1 sandra December 27, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I am curious about how long you cook the Pork Tenderloin for in the oven. I know that the temp needs to read 155 to 160 but how long should I leave it in th oven for so I can start to check temp?

    Pork Tenderloin with Mustard and White Wine Cream Sauce


Leave a Reply

We have moved!

Thanks for visiting! We have moved to www.thefoodspot.com. Check there for all these posts and more tasty news! Go The Food Spot!

Categories

Safe to Eat Flickr Photos


